Plymouth to Rame Head

As it was a reasonable afternoon weatherwise I decided that I ought to go for a walk. I set out with a view to walking westwards along the coast path – ‘the wrong way’. Having followed much of the SWCP using the official guide, the sea should always be on your right, else you’ve got something terribly wrong! A front was due Saturday morning, so I planned to catch a bus back to Plymouth ASAP in the a.m.

It took me a while to get packed, as my kit had hidden itself around the house. In my search I did however find the mini pack of toothpaste that I hadn’t seen in 5 years! New kit to get its inaugural outing included:

the sac, a KIMMlite (OMM) Jirishanca MM30RL[link to latest slightly larger version] bought for just £30 from backpackinglight.co.uk;

a new SUL sleeping bag, the PHD Minim Ultra, which I bought at the low introductory price last month;

and an equally lightweight down vest, the PHD minim Vest, again a special offer last month. [I had actually paid for the ultra vest but got the minim instead, which is fine as I prefer the full length zip]

Having fought off the feelings that I must, surely, have forgotten something? – having only recently discovered the whole Ultra Lightweight thing – I wandered off to catch the ferry across to Kernow.

You know that you’re on the SWCP when you have a ferry crossing. The Cremyll ferry always gives me slight feelings of excitement even though, having worked in Edgcumbe park for a season, I have used it many times.

Walking through the park I came across a free dance performance, which I may well have settled down in the sun to watch except I had missed about 57 of the 60 minutes the performance took!

As usual, like many others, I ignored the diversion up onto the park top to avoid the ‘dangerous path’ around the old arch. The main issue with this section is the Victorian archway across the track. This has been heading seaward for the last few decades and will collapse at some point probably within the next 10 years . The arch itself has now been cordoned off with Harris fencing, meaning a short scramble around. However the subsidence, which had a few years ago looked like claiming the track, has stopped. In fact there is now an area of fresh growth scrub and trees forming around the central area of the slip, so the area must have been stable for a few years now.

Having passed through the twin village of Kingsand and Cawsand and crossing the old border between Devonshire and Cornwall in the process I arrived at Penlee Point which I always view as being the start of the coast path proper, the previous section being within the Edgcumbe country Park. The evening was drawing in but as the wind was unusually from the SE, I decided that the promontory of Rame Head would provide the ideal windbreak, so I pushed on.

Rounding the cliffs above the disused chapel on the head, the wind dropped and after a bit of the usual tooing and froeing i pitched camp on the flower covered set-aside on the perimeter of a potato field. I usually try to stick to the unfarmed coast zone, but it was either here or back out on the windy Rame Head.

Tucked into my luxurious dinner of Spicy Potnoodle and Beans with veg sausages, followed by syrup sponge and custard whilst admiring the great view out along the coast and tomorrows waiting adventures.

 

~ by markbagley on Sunday 22 July 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
