Afan

Trundled around –

” White’s Trail

Distance: 24km

Climb: 400m

Time: 1.5 – 3 hours

The trail starts at Glyncorrwg Mountain Bike Centre.

Very technical progressive riding trail with drops, step downs and long singletrack climbs.

A 6km sheep track climb gives fantastic views of Afan Forest Park, extreme exposure on tight singletrack means ultimate thrills and long, demanding descents with rocky steps to negotiate, all leading to one outrageous trail. If this was a slalom run it would be graded black.”

It felt great to be back in the saddle after 18 months. I was a bit wobbly and tentative for the first few hundred metres, but soon warmed to it. I was out with Ric and Sue, who was feeling a bit off colour. Consequently I spend a major proportion of the time sat enjoying the views whilst waiting. Suprisingly I didn’t find the initial climb too bad, counter to most of the comments I heard at the top.

My only real problem was that I lost my front brake near the begining of the main descent, which took the edge off my speed a little!

Big grins all round!

Must go cycling more often.

~ by markbagley on Saturday 5 April 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
